Home / CRICKET NEWS / Aakash Chopra selects his top four for WT20, Leaves out former champions

Aakash Chopra selects his top four for WT20, Leaves out former champions

Aakash Chopra, a former Indian cricketer who is now a cricket commentator, has announced his semi-final choices for the ICC T20 World Cup 2021 in the United Arab Emirates and Oman. Chopra shared his thoughts on a variety of topics during a Twitter Q&A session with his followers.

For the first time in five years, the T20 World Cup will be played. The West Indies won the last event, which was held in India, in 2016. The event will begin on October 17 with the qualifying round, which will be split into two groups of four teams. Two teams will qualify from each of these two groups to join the eight teams divided into two groups.

Aakash Chopra Names His Four Semi-Finalists

Chopra listed India as one of the strongest contenders to win the T20 World Cup, along with the West Indies, the tournament’s most successful team, England, and Pakistan. On October 24, the first day of the main round of the T20 World Cup 2021, India will face Pakistan at the Dubai International Stadium.

In the Super 12, England and the West Indies are in Group 1, while India and Pakistan are in Group 2. It’s worth noting that Australia, according to the former India opener, will not advance to the semi-finals. With India’s five spinners – Axar Patel, Ravindra Jadeja, Rahul Chahar, Varun Chakravarthy, and Ravichandran Ashwin – Chopra was asked which spinners he would select in the final XI by another fan. Chopra feels Jadeja and Ashwin are safe bets, but Chahar and Varun are a toss-up.

On October 24, India and Pakistan will face off in a historic match. Both teams want to get off to a strong start. This would be the first meeting between the two sides since their ICC World Cup 2019 encounter in England. Pakistan has never beaten India in a World Cup match, and they want to alter that.

About Uddipta Das

Check Also

4 reasons why Lucknow could prove to be a great franchise in IPL

The RP – Sanjiv Goenka Group has returned to the IPL fold by successfully winning …